Return to Headlines

Dothan City Schools Announce 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year

DCS Logo

Dothan City Schools Announce 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year

DOTHAN, Ala. – Dothan City Schools is proud to announce their 2021-2022 Teachers of the Year. 

The Alabama Teacher of the Year Program seeks annually to honor and recognize excellence in the teaching profession by identifying outstanding Alabama classroom teachers at local, district and state levels. School nominees are: Early Education: Andrea Daughtery, Dothan City Early Education Center. Primary/Elementary: Lori Lucien, Beverlye Intermediate School; Aubrie McClenney, Carver School for Mathematics, Science, and Technology; Catina Breedlove, Girard Primary School; Carla Street, Girard Intermediate School; Anita Owens, Heard Elementary School; Juelie Harvin, Hidden Lake Primary School; Emily Baxley, Highlands Elementary School; Angelia Scarborough, Jerry Lee Faine Elementary School; JoNell Kirkland, Kelly Springs Elementary School; Derrick Lane, Morris Slingluff Elementary School; Ashley McGhee, Selma Street Elementary School. Secondary/Middle: Lisa Peacock, Dothan Preparatory Academy. Secondary/High School: Shelley Benjamin, Dothan High School; Gina Burdeshaw, Dothan Technology Center; Dwight Anthony Cockerham, PASS Academy.

Of the finalist across Dothan City Schools, DCS recognized its 2021-2022 District Teachers of the Year that will represent Dothan City Schools at the state level for Alabama Teacher of the Year. 

Angelia Scarborough and Dr. Denis Coe Jerry Lee Faine Elementary School’s speech-language pathologist Angeila Scarborough was named Dothan City Schools 2021-2022 Primary Teacher of the Year. Scarborough has been with the system for 8 years and has self-described herself as someone who was born to help students communicate effectively. Her coworkers have said that her everyday actions not only encourage her students but as well as her colleagues and all who work with her.

Dothan Technology Center’s graphic arts teacher Gina Burdeshaw was named Dothan City Schools 2021-2022 Secondary Teacher of the Year. Burdeshaw has been with the system for 2 years and has brought her dedicated skills to the classroom of DTC to show her students how creativity can thrive in the workforce. Her students believed she should be Teacher of the Year because she is constantly empowering and motivating them in every shape and form to be the best they can be. 

Gina Burdeshaw and Dr. Dennis Coe